For the little man’s birthday dinner with family I wanted a fun but simple cake.

He loves trucks so much that a construction site was always going to make him happy. Playing with these trucks became more important to him than eating cake, and even (marginally) than eating m&ms, although not quite as important as eating ‘hats’.

Adding store-bought details to a cake makes it look effective while being effortless – just a chocolate-raspberry cake, chocolate buttercream, m&m ‘rocks’ and fondant traffic cones/witches’ hats. The whole thing took me about 45min, to both make the components and assemble them (excluding the cake’s cooling time).

If I ever make one again and give myself more time, I will layer the cake so that the inside resembles construction tape like this (so awesome).

xo

